Hair Salon Franchise's Orlando Huddle


Hair salon franchise Sport Clips' annual National Huddle in Orlando, with almost 1,200 team members, was the largest huddle in its history.

Sport Clips Founder and CEO Gordon Logan outlined the company's plans for the male-orientated hair-care provider’s continued growth and recognized the success achieved during 2008.

Sport Clips is planning to open its 700th store later this year.

Logan was honored by the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) for Sport Clips' support of Operation Uplink, a VFW program that affords free call days for US military. A veteran himself, Logan has ensured the hair care franchise is Operation Uplink’s largest free call days sponsor.

Former NFL coach and owner of Joe Gibbs Racing, Joe Gibbs, and NASCAR's Joey Logano were special guests at the meeting. Other highlights of the Huddle included speaches from Robert Cromeans, Global Artistic Director of John Paul Mitchell Systems, Mel Kleiman of Humetrics and experts from the Disney Institute plus a a National Defense Radio broadcast, “The Look” stylist competition.

Award winners included:

Area Developer of the Year: Ray Dorulla – of Greenwood, IN whose Sport Clips interests include the states of Indiana and Kentucky.

AD of the Year Runner-up:

Ron and Robin Chamberlain – San Diego, CA

David and Becky Weseman – Omaha, NB

Joe and Jane Klimek and Bill and Sharon Vandrick – Houston, TX

Team Leaders (franchisees) of the Year: Brad and Carla Whitt – of Lee’s Summit, MO, who own six Sport Clips locations.

Runner up Team Leaders of the Year:

Dana and Sarah Raley – Clive, IA

Donna and Larry Shipman – Norman, OK

Monique and Brad Minton – Cypress, TX

Gwen and Greg Jacobson – Jupiter, FL

Sport and Karen Weddell – Amarillo, TX

Rookie Team Leader of the Year: Lorraine and Jim Walsh – of Vacaville, CA, who have two area Sport Clips stores.

Runner up Rookie TL of the Year:

Steve and Christine Nosser – Arrington, TN

Bill and Joanette Rogers – Lothian, MD

Chris and Tracy Martin – Houston, TX

JJ O’Conner and Dick Marak – Mt. Prospect, IL

Preston and Vicki Luman – Edina, MN

Manager of the Year: Stephanie Nasby - Louisville, KY

Rookie Manager of the Year: Jessica Givens – Edmond, OK